So that happened.   Leave a comment

The Doctor is a woman.

It’s been a long wait. I’m not talking about the 50ish years since Sydney Newman first suggested the Doctor try a gender switch; just the 6 months since Capaldi announced his departure. Last week I wondered if SDCC would be the time/place for an announcement, but decided it’s far too American of an event. I figured we’d have to be patient for months yet.

But the Christmas special has wrapped. There were two possibilities, I thought: either the regeneration had yet to be filmed, pending casting, or the regeneration had been filmed, and it was only a matter of time before someone leaked. Either way, it behooved the production team to get it done and out in public.

So Friday came the teaser, and I didn’t know how I would get through the weekend.

The Wimbledon final began at 6am in my time zone. The estimate from Doctor Who News was 2-5 hours of play, with the announcement to follow. I woke up at 8, grabbed my phone, pulled up Twitter. Already Federer had won, but still we knew nothing. Fans wailed and gnashed their teeth.

I hit refresh.

I brushed my teeth, hit refresh. Made tea, hit refresh. Picked up my book – you get the idea. Click click click.

Then there was a name. And a video.

I yelled for my husband. Too impatient to boot up anything with a proper screen, we huddled over the phone. There were tears. There was disbelief. There was much rejoicing. Then we booted up the proper screens for a morning of rewatching, reposting, commentary, and squee.

I had heard Whittaker’s name mentioned among the cast of thousands, but I didn’t take it seriously. Her prior roles haven’t moved me to a great degree. But something about her face, the way she gazed at that old blue box, made it clear she is the Doctor.

I’m ready.

Posted July 17, 2017 by Elisabeth in Squee!

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

