Well that was different.   2 comments

This week we attended what might have been the oddest Doctor Who event ever. A local wine shop dedicated to pairing its wines with the perfect food or the perfect social occasion has branched out into character pairings. Characters from Harry Potter, Firefly, Game of Thrones, and many more have been matched with zippy Rieslings and dour French Bordeaux. The idea is to taste the character of the wine and consider what traits it shares with characters from popular culture. This week the good Doctor and his friends got a turn.

For example, Clara Oswald was paired with a Pinot Noir Rose described as “energetic, intelligent, sassy, cute,” among other things; Jack Harkness with a “flirtatious, brave, tenacious, worldly, devious” Saro Djablo with an appropriate demon on the label. River Song’s Washington Riesling was “flirty, strong, [and] unpredictable” while the TARDIS was matched with a one of a kind Obac described as “mercurial, temperamental, feisty, [and big-hearted].” The Doctor himself was paired with a Cabernet Franc/Malbec blend described as “stern, gruff, [and] punk rock.” It was a mad range of wines, and great fun tasting for familiar traits. It was also unlike anything I’ve done before.

We wrapped up the evening with trivia. I handily won, going home at the end of an enjoyable night with yet another book for my collection.

People are going to start thinking I’m a nerd.

Posted November 5, 2016 by Elisabeth in Events

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “Well that was different.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was forced to give up on the whole “I’m not a nerd” thing. I never thought I was, until I realized (recently) that it’s not just Doctor Who and Star Trek: TNG. Oh no. It’s Star Trek: TOS as well, I wrestled my husband for Dungeons and Dragon’s die (even though I don’t play I just liked the shape and color of them), I’ve been talking to a skype bot….and more. I’m a nerd. Once you accept it, it gets to be easier because you don’t have to pretend your not. But no one else can call you out on it, it’s your choice to consider yourself that. And yes, even if you can accept it, you can argue it with other people to deny it. Just be careful…I learned the hard way, that the argument (if had with another nerd) can easily give you away LOL Just enjoy yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

