Literary DW   Leave a comment

I have read a lot of Doctor Who books: novelizations, original stories, and non-fiction. It seems only logical to post reviews here.

However, there are far too many of them.

A full list of fiction reviews can be found here: Doctor Who/Torchwood. Some of my favorites include Shada, a novelization of Douglas Adams’ script for a never-finished episode; Human Nature, the source material for the S3 episode of the same name and its sequel; All-Consuming Fire, in which the Doctor meets the Great Detective; and Eleven Doctors, Eleven Stories, a collection of mostly-excellent short fiction published in celebration of the 50th Anniversary.

I’ve also consumed a fair amount of ‘scholarly’ and non-fiction work on the good Doctor, with varying results. The most well-known of the books I’ve read is Chicks Dig Time Lords: I liked it, particularly Carole Barrowman’s contribution, but didn’t relate to most of it. I enjoyed The Greatest Show in the Galaxy, named for a Seventh Doctor story, a silly but fun collection of two fans’ thoughts and theories about their favorite show. Inside the TARDIS offers a solid history of the show, with minimal editorializing. Doctor Who in Time and Space offers thoughtful essays on a variety of topics.

My absolute favorite, however, is Doctor Who: The Inside Story, a behind-the-scenes look at reboot series 1 and 2 and the thoughts and ideas that went into them. I really enjoyed reading about the casting of Rose and Jackie and Mickey, the effects created on a limited budget, the clothes and the colors and the vision that went into every shot of every story. David Tennant wrote the introduction, in which he invites the reader to be “one of us;” I have never felt more included.

I read a lot more than I watch television, and I’m glad I can take the Doctor with me.

Posted June 3, 2015 by Elisabeth in Books, Collecting

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

