Anglicon!   Leave a comment

It’s coming!

I have many thoughts about this convention. It’s the closest I’m likely to get to Gallifrey One for the foreseeable future, so I hope it’s good. It’s an old event but it’s been on hiatus for the last 9 years, so it’s almost more like a new one. There have been some very slight suggestions of organizational problems. My con experience is limited to Geek Girl Con, an incredibly well-run convention, and smaller events like Sherlock Seattle and a couple of now-defunct Portland cons. I don’t know how big or how successful this one will turn out to be. I’m both anxious and excited to find out.

I’m very excited about the guests. The Sixth Doctor, Jo Grant, and Ace will be there. Yesterday, the programming schedule went up, and I learned I’ll have plenty of chances to see them without waiting in autograph lines – one per day each in fact. The companions have two companion-related panels together in addition to having individual Q&A sessions. Mr. Baker has two solo events, one discussing his more current projects and one TBD. Seriously, the description says “We’ll get Colin Baker to do something for you.” Having seen ‘The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot’ I know precisely how hilarious this could be.

I’m also very excited about the costumes. One of the things I’ve always admired about my fellow fans is their vast reservoir of creativity; with a masquerade scheduled Friday night in addition to regular con-cosplay opportunity, I can’t wait to see what people do. And of course I have costumes of my own.

I don’t know if I’ll enter the contest or not – my costumes are not home-made, more ‘assembled,’ and I’m sure to be outclassed in any case – but for the masquerade I have this TARDIS outfit:

2015-05-27 18.43.35

The two-layer chiffon circle skirt with lace trim I’ve had since my bellydance days. The corset is a slightly newer addition. I’ve worn them together for several events: they are reasonably comfortable and attractive. The hat was a ridiculous and awesome acquisition from last year’s Geek Girl Con. It lights up and has feathers and there is literally no other occasion when I could properly wear it. The necklace, purchased expressly for this event, is the Police Box sign from the TARDIS door, a very pretty piece from etsy. The galaxy tights are also a last-minute addition, thanks to my brilliant husband. 🙂

For the majority of Friday, though, I prefer to keep things simple and comfortable:

2015-05-27 18.41.32

The dress is from Her Universe, a gift from my husband last year. I may or may not assemble an accompanying headband.

The rest of the weekend is Doctor time.

2015-05-27 18.45.11

Leather jacket from Goodwill, appropriately colored camisole, black pants and boots a normal part of my wardrobe. I wore this ‘closet cosplay’ to GGC last year, and hardly anyone noticed. I’m hoping it’ll be more obvious at a Who-centric event.

2015-05-27 18.47.28

This is my latest and greatest, a $200 women’s business suit found at Goodwill (Goodwill!!!) for $40. I pictured it before with a blue shirt and a tie – I even bought a Tenth Doctor-inspired tie on etsy to go with it – but I was never happy or comfortable with the look. Something about the neckline didn’t work for me. I decided to go full femme instead with an open collar shirt and jewelry, and it looks MUCH better. The tie remains (so far) the one and only etsy impulse purchase I kind of regret.

I do have the shoes though. 🙂

My husband, currently sporting a goatee, plans a Delgado Master look for Friday; then, following a shave, the Third Doctor for Katy Manning on Saturday. Sunday remains to be seen, as he is less over-saturated with costumes than I am; however, since (I keep forgetting) this is a British media convention and not solely Doctor Who, both Gene Hunt (Life on Mars) and Bond villain Blofeld are possibilities.

We are going to have a really good time.

ETA we also have this to look forward to: brand new art by Studio Catawampus!

Leave a Reply

