Minutiae   Leave a comment

A variety of unimportant things…

If you have never seen ‘The Ballad of Russell and Julie,’ now is as good a time as ever. I thought of it as I was thinking of a title for this post; the phrase ‘ming-mong’ came to mind, which I only know of via this video (and accompanying research. Nerd.)

A tumblr post, which I can no longer find and therefore link to, pointed out another problematic aspect of ‘The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon’ – which I originally expressed my feelings about here. The post observed (and I paraphrase) that the Doctor who answered without pause for consideration that an unaware slave is still a slave would be unlikely to then enslave 6 billion unaware people in the service of genocide. After taking an embarrassingly long time to figure out that the post was talking about the Silence, I thought about it further. Not only is it unlikely that the Doctor would engage the human population in this way – subliminally, and without their consent – it is unlikely in the extreme that he would essentially trick innocent people into murder. I think this is another arena where Moffat’s demonstrated writing skill fails him: surely the creator of ‘The Empty Child’ and ‘The Girl in the Fireplace’ could have come up with a better solution. A trick to defeat the forgetting, perhaps, or some other innocuous error – or hubris – of the Silence turned against them. That would be more in character than hypnotizing an army of unwilling zombie killers.

Anglicon is coming up! The staff have yet to post a programming schedule, so I wait on the edge of my seat to see if it will all be worthwhile. $65/person plus travel expenses to walk around in costume for three days would not be the worst money I’ve ever spent, but I’d rather I could learn something as well. Still, I am very happy with my costume selection. I plan to post preview photos this weekend – and of course action shots after the event. My sister will also be there, with some of this fabulous collection, as well as new pieces I can’t wait to see. And it’ll be the largest gathering of DW nerds on the west coast after Gallifrey One – no small potatoes may I say. The Sixth Doctor, Jo Grant, and Ace will be there, among other less-acclaimed (though no less worthy) guests. I hope they’ll have a panel or a Q&A, as autograph lines and breakfast banquets are not my thing.

As I speak – programming has just gone up. Off to squee now, more later.

Leave a Reply

