More ‘Reunion’   2 comments

Mostly I just want to post this picture again:

ten.sarahjane

David Tennant reportedly loved Doctor Who from the age of three. In 1974, the Doctor’s main companion was journalist Sarah Jane Smith. Tennant might not remember her clearly from that time – though he might, he was five before she left the show – but as a dedicated fan he certainly would have grown to adore her in any case.

I’m sure there are quotes and comments somewhere, but for now just imagine: You’ve taken on the role of your childhood hero, and now you get to meet your heroine.

"Oh I should think so."

“Oh I should think so.”

Meta gold.

2 responses to “More ‘Reunion’

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This scene warms my heart every time. The first time I saw it I had no idea who Sarah-Jane was, but when the Doctor reacted like that I sat up and thought “Okay, this must be someone REALLY special.” David’s acting is just pure joy.
    Have you read the foreword David wrote for Elisabeth’s autobiography? I have the link somewhere…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read it, but I’ve been meaning to read the book – oh look, my library has it right now. 🙂

    I don’t remember precisely the sequence of events, but I think I knew vaguely who she was when we saw the ep. Also, it was just around that time that she passed away. I read a page of comments on the CBBC page that moved me so deeply – parents who had loved her as children and shared her with their own children, children who had fallen in love with her on her own show, people of all ages she had touched, generations brought together. It was really something to see.

    The episode was also meaningful for me personally, as I posted on my other blog: https://elisabethflaum.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/mom-and-me/

    Like

Leave a Reply

