Silly things make me happy.   1 comment

Like these silly, wondrous, beautiful things:

2015-02-25 18.32.59

These are Alice XZ’s Doctor Who comic book covers. As much as I would love to buy and read Doctor Who comics regularly, it’s an impractical medium. 5 minutes of story once a month at $4 a pop adds up too fast. But Alice XZ covers I can justify collecting.

So far she’s done two of each Doctor, 10-12, and she has two issues of the 9th Doctor coming up as well. If you’re not familiar with her work, check her out. Her TARDIS – titled ‘All of Time and Space’ – is one of my all-time favorite pieces of fan art. I have it on a tee shirt, a print on my wall, and on a tote bag. Admire its glorious color and light. All of her work is generally wonderful, though some of her likenesses aren’t as good as others. Here are a few more of my favorites:

Virtuoso,’ now officially licensed by the BBC.

The Girl who Waited

Molly Hooper

And gone from Society 6 but still up on deviantart, one of the most heart-wrenching pieces I’ve ever seen: ‘Obliviate

There are of course many more.

On the comics front, I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read. The Eleventh Doctor’s stories in particular capture the character well. His companion is an excellent one. (Nothing against Clara or Gabby Gonzales, but Alice is special.) The interior art leaves something to be desired; likenesses are iffy. I don’t mind limiting myself to the Alice XZ covers. However, I will be collecting the Ninth Doctor. His run is only 5 issues long and includes Rose and Jack. How can I pass it up?

Official page here.

Posted February 25, 2015 by Elisabeth in Collecting, Cool Stuff, Fan Art

Tagged with , , , , , ,

One response to “Silly things make me happy.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Fun with comics | Type 40 Travels

Leave a Reply

