Pond Life   Leave a comment

‘Pond Life’ is, to the best of my recollection, a series of tiny ‘mini-sodes’ depicting the Ponds coping without the Doctor, set somewhere between S6 and S7. I didn’t watch them when they first came out (on YouTube); I think we were still catching up on S6 at the time, or possibly Moffat-fatigued. Whatever the reason, at the time they held no interest for me. I watched them tonight as part of my New Who rewatch.

Together they last about 5 minutes, and are remarkably Doctor-heavy for being called ‘Pond Life.’ They’re also heavy on the 12-year-old boy humor. There’s a bit with an Ood doing housework that’s mildly amusing. And the last bit I suppose is intended to set up the deteriorating condition of the Ponds’ marriage, which comes out in episode 1 of S7 (‘Asylum of the Daleks’).

I’m not sure the deterioration of a marriage, at least unrelated to the stresses of time travel, is an appropriate topic for Doctor Who. I suppose there’s no reason why not; it just seems a little out of left field for me. It could have made an interesting arc, if Moffat hadn’t chosen to set it up in 40 seconds and knock it down in 40 minutes. The up side of course is not having to deal with it for very long; the down side is a squandered storytelling opportunity.

Basically, if you’re going to go there, go there.

I have seen ‘Asylum of the Daleks’ twice, though not recently. I have mixed feelings about it. We’ll see how it holds up in sequence.

For the interested, here is the video in question.

ETA: Amy’s hair is amazing in the video. I don’t know what Gillan was up to at the time, but she was rocking.

pondlife

(image source)

I admire the classic Scottish breakfast as well. 🙂

Posted January 21, 2015 by Elisabeth in The Great Re-Watch

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

