The series so far, and other people   Leave a comment

It’s starting to depress me that the people around me do not like this season. I think it depresses me because I’m afraid they’re right. But really I don’t think they are. I think it’s a dark, difficult, cerebral season. I don’t think it’s entirely successful, but I also don’t think it’s bad. I don’t think it’s a big Moffat finger to the fans; I think he’s trying, and not getting it right. I think that Moffat-haters are at this point impossible to please; they’ll see what they see, and all the reasons it’s wrong, no matter what actually appears on screen.

I’m not a fan of Moffat’s era overall and I do wish he would hand over the reins. However I don’t agree that he’s entirely bad, or entirely sexist, or entirely any one thing or another. I think he loves the source material and has very strong feelings about the direction he’s taken. The same would be said of anyone. I think he has a bad case of foot-in-mouth disease and an inability to apologize. I think he’s got a swollen head, and two incredibly successful shows to offer as evidence that his narcissism is justified.

I still don’t think he’s all bad. I think there is gold in this season, but it has to be dug for.

Unfortunately, I don’t trust him either. I’m afraid that he won’t be able to deliver the things he’s setting up, and that the haters will turn out to be right. I’m afraid I’ll have to watch the show by myself and never discuss it with anyone.

Twelve and Clara and the people they meet have been amazing at every turn. Some of the storylines have been questionable. I think it’s still possible to make this season as amazing as its stars, but I don’t have confidence it will happen.

Posted October 13, 2014 by Elisabeth in Season 8

Leave a Reply

